top of page

Welcome from the San Francisco Consular Corps.  We are the Consuls General and Honorary Consuls, Heads of Consular Posts of 70 countries. All of us are appointed

by our home governments and accepted to represent them by the U.S. federal


The Vienna Convention on Consular Relations and customary internal law create

the legal framework for the operation of Consulates General and Consulates.

The San Francisco Consular Corps presently consists of 70 Consulates — 42 career Consulates General and 30 Honorary Consulates. Career Consuls General are full

time diplomats sent from the home country, while Honorary Consuls are permanent residents or citizens residing in the Bay Area. In addition to the San Francisco Bay

Area, many Consulates have responsibility for Western States, or the Western

portion of the U.S.


to About
bottom of page